Susquehanna Morning

Susquehanna Morning

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Lectio Divina

In an effort to simplify the format of the daily reflections, I have decided to separate out the Lectio Divina instructions/ suggestions in a separate post, here. Henceforth, this post will be available through a link in the daily post.

This will accomplish two things: 1. It will provide for a cleaner, more easily readable blogpost each day. And 2. It will offer the option of using the daily devotional without doing the Lectio, if that is something you prefer.

The Four Movements of Lectio Divina ("Sacred Reading")

I know Lectio Divina can seem overwhelming if you've never tried it before. And really, the gist of it is in those descriptive titles for each movement: Read, Meditate, Pray, Contemplate. Begin with some deep breaths, quieting yourself, perhaps lighting a candle. Know that you are bathed in the love of God, who delights to meet you in all places, and especially in your opening scripture. Know, too, that you don't have to make a lengthy investment in this process for it to "work." If you have just 15 minutes this evening, that's fine. If you have longer, that's fine, too.
Now, let's begin.

1. Lectio: Reading. Read a short passage of scripture. Feel free to:

  • Read until a particular word of phrase strikes you. ("If God comes in the first verse, why go on to the next?")
  • Read the entire passage.
2.  Meditatio: Meditation. Think about the meaning of the passage by wondering about any or all the following questions, as you find them helpful.
  • What did it mean to the people for whom it was first written?
  • What does it mean to or for me today?
  • What does it mean to or for us, the community of God's people, today?
3. Oratio: Prayer. Prayer has been described as "loving conversation with God." In a conversation, both speak, and both listen. You may choose to do all or any of the following. Wonder how you might respond to God's word to you this evening. Talk to God about the passage, and whatever it brings to your attention. Wonder what changes you might make in light of what you read. Write a poem, journal, draw a picture, or create something else simple that expresses your feelings. Spend some time in quiet, so that God can speak to you. 

 4. Contemplatio: Contemplation. This is the moment when you let go of words, images, wrestling, and wondering, and simply give yourself up to love. This is the celebration. Rest in God's love.

No comments:

Post a Comment